Feeling Sunshine

It was a really good day yesterday.  The sun was peeking through the clouds of rain, and you could tell it was going to be a hot day in Australia.

Driving up the Gilley’s Range at 5am, you were totally engulfed by soft white clouds, it almost seemed like the truck and boat were cutting a path through the cloud masses.  It is a wonderful drive up the curving, twisting road through the rainforest.  Up you go to the tablelands, where it all opens up to rolling hills and beautiful freshwater lakes.  Today we spent the day at Lake Tinaroo with my boyfriend’s family boating, tubing and skiing (trying to ski that is).

It was so nice to just forget about things for a day.  The rain slowly resided, and it made for a nice hot day out on the water.  We found an island, made a little camp there and just spent the day laughing and having a good time.  The Australian sun is brutal, no matter how much sun screen you apply the sun still finds a way to leave it’s mark.  In Missouri, where I am from, it gets hot in the summer, but you feel it burning you.  Here, you dont feel it until its too late. So we all left burnt to a crisp, but it was well worth it.

So for the day, I got to forget about a lot.  My ex and the things he does to still hurt me, dealing with a new place different than where I am from, living with a new person and adjusting to his kids while severely missing my own.  Im sure my list could go on but I will stop there, it gives you an idea anyway.

With anything you do in life, there will always be positives and negatives.  Im just thankful I got to feel the sun shining, I got to laugh and just have a good time.

MY SUNSHINE                                                                   

 I feel the warmth down on me

Surrounding all of my body

Rays wrapping, engulfing me

Gleams of the sunlight, holding me.

No worries, in this warm place

Soft lips smile to feel the embrace,

When dark days threaten, and clouds roll in

Help me to remember the sunshine again. ~ ajp 1/4/2010

~ by itsjojogirl on January 4, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
